top of page

Social Emotional Learning Framework Training: The Clover Model

Social Emotional Learning Framework Training: The Clover Model

This individual workshop is designed for teachers, afterschool educators, student support staff, and anyone interested in learning more about youth development.


The Clover Model is also known as a Developmental Process Theory (DPT) that describes the experience of transitioning from infancy to adulthood. The Clover Model was designed to illustrate the interconnection among four key youth development domains and describe the process a young person goes through as they grow and develop. The model is not intended to provide a comprehensive list of every competency a young person should acquire across a lifetime—it is an intentional simplification that focuses on the minimum elements needed for youth to thrive. 

The Clover Model has four domains of development: active engagement, assertiveness, belonging, and reflection. Active engagement represents the desire to physically engage with the world; assertiveness, or agency, represents the development of voice and desire to express wants and needs; belonging represents the desire to build connections with siblings, peers, and adults; and reflection represents the desire for self-knowledge, understanding the meaning of existence, and identity exploration. 

For more details on the development of the Clover Model, read:

In this training you will learn how you can use PEAR's Clover Model understand social-emotional development and use to create dynamic youth programming and meet your youth's social and emotional needs.

Learning Objectives

Participants will:

  1. Organize social emotional development in 4 accessible dimensions

  2. Apply the Clover Model to themselves and their youth work

  3. Discover how to use the Clover Model as a tool for promotion of social-emotional balance

Upcoming Trainings
bottom of page